I’ve Been (Very) Liebstered!

I’ve been meaning to catch up on this for a while! Lately, the Liebster award has been making its way through the blogosphere and I’ve been given it four times! Thank you Anna from Defiant Success, Natalie from In the Mood, Kellee from Outspoken and Freckled, and Nikki from All Things Classic! If you haven’t already seen this, here are the rules:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
  3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
  4. Choose 11 people to award and send the a link to your post.
  5. Go to their page and tell them.
  6. No tag backs.

Although I’m going to skip the parts about coming up with 11 questions to tag other people with. I’m afraid it might take me another month to come up with eleven more questions and I think everyone I would tag has already been tagged at some point.

Now, onto my many questions…
11 Things About Me:

1.  I just finished reading Gloria Swanson’s autobiography “Swanson on Swanson.”  I haven’t had time to do a proper review of it, but I very highly recommend it for anyone interested in the early days of film.  She has a lot of insights about the film industry and how it changed over the years.

2.  During this year’s Blogging Under the Stars, I wrote about 26 movies I had never seen before.  Of the 26, my top five favorites were Mister Roberts, Requiem for a Heavyweight, One Way Passage, Drunken Angel, and H.M. Pulham, Esq.

3.  I really, really, really hate football.

4.  I keep the DVDs I record with my DVD recorder organized by giving each disc a number and keeping a spreadsheet listing which movies are on which disc.  I realize how obsessive this sounds, but it’s the easiest and fastest way to find what I’m looking for.

5.  I took German for all four years of high school and French for two semesters in college.  I wish I could have taken more French classes, but I just didn’t have the time.

6.  I’m one of those people who has to be early to everything.  Being ten minutes early is my idea of being right on time.  Just the thought of being late makes my skin crawl.

7.  My favorite album of all time is Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon.

8.   I’ve only ever been to a handful of concerts.  So far, I’ve seen The Cranberries, The Spice Girls, ‘NSYNC, Green Day, and Madonna.  But I’m very excited to get to see Madonna again in November.

9.  Lately I’ve been working on something special for the Paramount Centennial blogathon, which is why I’ve been a little quiet on here so far this month.

10.  I love playing the Just Dance video games.

11. Of all the times I’ve gone to see a movie in a theater, I think the best times I’ve ever had were when I saw White Christmas a couple of years ago and when I went to a midnight screening of The Room.

Anna’s Questions:

1. Any actors you show promise for?
I’m a big fan of Mad Men and I’ve always been very impressed with Kiernan Shipka.

2.  Anyone you’re hoping makes a comeback soon?
I don’t think I pay enough attention to modern Hollywood to know who could use a comeback.

3.  Name someone in Hollywood you find overrated.
Julia Roberts.  Her appeal just completely escapes me.

4.  What do you do apart from blogging and watching movies?
I love going on walks and usually walk somewhere between two and three miles almost every day.  I also like reading and looking around flea markets, antique stores, and resale shops.

5.  What TV shows do you watch?
Of shows that are currently airing, I love Mad Men, Boardwalk Empire,  and The Simpsons.  But I also love Freaks and Geeks, Twin Peaks, Daria, and Mystery Science Theater 3000.  

6.  Your most prized DVD?
My Freaks and Geeks complete series yearbook edition set.  In terms of packaging, it’s very easily the best DVD release I’ve ever seen.

7.  Do you watch movies in theaters more or at home?
I watch mostly at home, but I do go to theaters pretty often.

8.  You have the chance to go back in time to see a film premiere. Which film would you see?
Grand Hotel! I always thought that looked like a fun premiere.

9.  Dog or cat person?
I like both, but I have three cats.  Hobbes is the oldest, he’s fifteen years old.  Then there’s Cici, who is almost four.  Roxie is the youngest, she’s two.  The three of them keep me very busy and entertained.

10.  Whose movies have you seen the most of? (This can apply to actors and directors.)
I’ve seen nearly all of Greta Garbo’s movies, I think I only have 6 left to see.

11.  Name your guilty pleasure.
Alf, terrible Lifetime movies, and Judge Judy.  I’ll get to more of my guilty pleasure movies in a little bit.

Natalie’s Questions:

1. In film do you prefer black&white or color?
I can enjoy both.

2. In photographs do you prefer black&white or color?
Again, I enjoy both.

3. Your favorite era in music?
It’s kind of hard for me to pick just one.  I suppose 1960s and 1970s rock music, but in general, my taste in music is pretty diverse.  If I put my iPod on shuffle, it’s not unusual for me to get something like a song from Top Hat, The Supremes, The Beastie Boys, and The Rolling Stones all in a row.

4. Do you have a tumblr?
Nope.

5. Your second favorite actress?
Joan Crawford (Bette Davis being my first favorite.)

6. Your favorite movie starring your second favorite actress?
Mildred Pierce

7. Your second favorite actor?
Humphrey Bogart (Cary Grant is my first favorite.)

8. Your favorite movie starring your second favorite actor?
Obvious answer, but Casablanca.

9. Favorite foreign film?
The Umbrellas of Cherbourg.  When I took French 101, my professor showed that movie to the class and it was my big introduction to French films.  I adored all the bright colors, Catherine Deneuve, and the music.  It’s definitely an unforgettable movie.

10. Ice cream or French fries?
Ice cream.

11. If you could see your favorite actress in any movie role [real or imagined] what would it be?
I don’t know of a specific role, but I’ve always wished that Garbo had done a Billy Wilder comedy. He was a writer for Ninotchka, and she was hilarious in that. If he had been writing for her and directing her, too, something pretty amazing would have come out of it.

Kellee’s Questions:

1. What is your earliest classic film memory?
Watching Some Like it Hot and thinking it was hilarious!

2. Who are your top favorite directors (modern or classic)?
Billy Wilder, Ernst Lubistch, Charlie Chaplin, Alfred Hitchcock, and Quentin Tarantino.

3. How has your love of movies (classic or modern) influenced other areas of your life?
Being a classic film fan has connected me to so many wonderful people I never would have met otherwise.

4. What film/s (classic or modern) do you think has the best music score?
Lately, I’ve been kind of obsessed with the score from Vertigo.

5. Who are your favorite character actors (modern or classic) and why? (Biased, shameless plug.)
I’ve always liked Charles Coburn.  He was such a perfect rich guy and so funny.  I even like seeing him in things like King’s Row where he gets to play against type.

6. Which films have made the most impact from a fashion perspective in your opinion and/or are simply your favorite/s from a fashion/style/design perspective (modern or classic)?
Oh, there are so many I could name here. Even though it’s not generally thought of as a fashionable film, I adore the costuming in All About Eve. There’s also Our Dancing Daugters, Saturday Night Fever, Desperately Seeking Susan, The Women, Grand Hotel, Cleopatra (both Claudette Colbert and Elizabeth Taylor versions), Rear Window, Gone With the Wind, just to name a few off the top of my head.

7. Who are your favorite villains (modern or classic)?
Sylvia Fowler, for being the wittiest villain in film history.  Veda Pierce also ranks pretty high up there.

8. If you were in a classic film, who would play you, your best pal and your significant other?
I’d want to be played by Carole Lombard, my best friend to be played by Joan Blondell, and my significant other to be played by Cary Grant.

9. If you could choose any television show (modern or classic), which show would you do a remake of and feel free to add who would star (modern or classic/dead or alive) in it.
It would be interesting to see Boardwalk Empire done with 1920s actors.

10. What’s your favorite sassy/snarky come-back line from any film?
It’s a tie between “There’s a name for you ladies, but it isn’t used in high society…outside of a kennel” from The Women and “Outside, Countess! As long as they’ve got sidewalks, you’ve got a job!” from Footlight Parade.  One of my biggest goals in life is to use those lines in real life someday.

11. Who are your favorite comedy actors?
Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Carole Lombard, Rosalind Russell, Jean Harlow, Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton, Marion Davies.

Nikki’s Questions:

1) Favorite 1910 thru 1950′s  film of all time and why?
I’m going to say Sunset Boulevard, just because it’s the first thing that popped into my head.

2) Most under appreciated actor and actress of the classic era.
Fred MacMurray and I’m drawing a total blank on an underrated actress right now.

3) 5 Classic films you would show if you got to host TCM for a night.
The Letter (1929 version); The Patsy; The Oyster Princess; A Lady of Chance; and Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!

4) Movie that scares you the most?
Night of the Hunter

5) Classic Star you never quite became a fan of or understood?
Marlon Brando.  I do think he’s an excellent actor and I really like some of his movies like A Streetcar Named Desire and On the Waterfront, but I can’t say I’ve ever watched a movie specifically for Brando.

6) Most under appreciated film of the classic era?
I live for the under-appreciated gems!  I can’t pick just one, but Carole Lombard’s Hands Across the Table is first one that comes to mind.

7) Favorite Musical and why?
I’d say Singin’ in the Rain.  For a long time, I wasn’t particularly into musicals, but Singin’ in the Rain was the movie that changed that for me.  It represents everything that was good about MGM musicals.  The songs are good and I love how they were re-worked.  Of course, there’s Gene Kelly, but Donald and Debbie are pretty darn unforgettable as well.

8) What was the first classic film you saw that made you “get it?”
The Great Dictator.  I’d seen plenty of classic films before I saw that for the first time, but that one was the big turning point in turning me into a dedicated classic film fan.

9) What is your “Guilty Pleasure” film?
Rock ‘n Roll High School, Spice World, Trog, Frogs, Octaman.

10) Fake Dinner, 8 classic film actors/actresses GO!
Myrna Loy, Joan Crawford, Cary Grant, Humphrey Bogart, Jean Harlow, William Powell, Carole Lombard, Lana Turner.

11) Favorite Film Noir?
Double Indemnity

2 comments

    1. Depending on how big your collection is, it can be a hassle to get a spreadsheet put together. But once you have it set up, it is so nice to have.

Comments are closed.