If I Could Program One Day…

A while back, a friend of mine challenged some of his movie buff friends to come up with a schedule of movies that they would pick if, in fantasy world, you were given the chance to program one full day of movies on TCM.  Just for fun, I thought I’d post my choices here:

6:00 AM: Footlight Parade
8:00 AM: This is the Night
9:30 AM: Arsenic and Old Lace
11:30 AM:  Ninotchka
1:30 PM:  The Women
4:00 PM:  The Thin Man
6:00 PM: Born to Dance
8:00 PM: The Letter (1929)
9:10 PM: The Patsy
10:30 PM: The Oyster Princess
11:30 PM:  A Lady of Chance
1:00 AM: I Saw What You Did
2:30 AM:  Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!
4:00 AM:  The Letter (1940)

If I were programming an entire day, I’d try to do some of my more well-known favorites during the day and keep the more underrated ones for prime time.  For late night, I’d have to throw in a couple of my favorite camp cult classics, followed by the Bette Davis version of The Letter to end the day with a bang.

So what would movies would you choose if you could program a full day of TCM?  I’d love to hear what you guys would pick.  If you’re up to the challenge, feel free to figure it out and post it in the comments or, if you’re a blogger, do a post on your site.  Have fun!

5 comments

  1. What a great idea! I love some of your choices, especially The Women, Ninotchka, and both versions of The Letter. I will have to give this one some thought for my programming day — this will be fun!

  2. This is great! Love that you put the well-known titles in the day time and the lesser seen ones in Prime Time–this seems to be the exact opposite of what TCM does, though it makes total sense that they do it that way. As it makes total sense that we do the opposite when playing Fantasy TCM!

    Love your 8 o’clock choice, though I think if they ever do that they’d almost definitely move up your 4 am pick to 9:10.

    I’m very tempted to spend the rest of the night obsessing over my own schedules, but I think I”ll just post my 8-11 pm double feature here instead: I’d go with, in either order, Edward G. Robinson in “Two Seconds” (1932) an Warren William in “The Mouthpiece” (1932). Two pre-code biggies for me that will never get the fans they deserve unless TCM starts breaking them out more often!

    1. Good choices! It seems like a lot of people get excited when TCM shows pre-codes in prime time, which is why I’d pick The Letter and I’m sure Two Seconds and The Mouthpiece would be big hits. When they showed Safe in Hell and The Story of Temple Drake in prime, my posts on those had enormous spikes in traffic. I know to expect a little increase in traffic when TCM shows something I’ve written about, but those two completely took the cake.

  3. I don’t think I’d last until 4am so I guess it’s a good thing I’ve seen the 1940 “The Letter” recently. But as for the rest…I’m popping the corn right now and I’ll be over in two shakes!

Comments are closed.