7×7

The 7×7 meme has been making its way around the blogosphere lately, and now that Brandie from True Classics has tagged me, it’s my turn to play!  Thanks, Brandie!  If you don’t know how this works, here are the rules:

  • Tell everyone something that no one else knows about.
  • Link to one of my posts that I personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece, and Most Pride-worthy Piece.
  • Pass this award on to seven other bloggers.

Something No One Else Knows About:  When I publish new posts, they almost always go up at 12:05 AM.  I have no idea why I decided 12:05 AM specifically would be my official posting time, but since I’m a night owl, I like to give other night owls something to new to read.

Most Beautiful Piece:  You know, I really can’t think of a post I’ve done that I’d describe as beautiful.

Most Helpful Piece:  Probably the post I did comparing the movie Mildred Pierce with the book and the HBO miniseries.  When I wrote that one, I was hoping to lay it all out and answer any questions anyone might have.  And judging by the search engine traffic that one gets, it seems like I succeeded.

Most Popular Piece:  According to my stats, my review of Ziegfeld Follies holds that title. 

Most Controversial Piece:  I don’t think I do much on here that could be considered controversial.  I think the closest I’ve come is the time I wrote about why I don’t consider Citizen Kane to be the perfect movie.

Most Surprisingly Successful Piece:  Definitely the list of my ten favorite movie costumes.  That was a post I threw together at the last minute.  I had originally intended to do a Fashion in Film post on Our Dancing Daughters for that day.  But when I went to do screencaps for it, I quickly realized it’s impossible to get good stills of those fringed flapper dresses because they’re constantly moving.  So I scrapped that idea and decided to do the list instead.  I really didn’t expect it to be such a hit, but it’s currently my fifth most viewed post of all time.

Most Underrated Piece:  I’ve always been fond of the post I did on the documentary Marlene.  But that’s a post I did when I was very new to the blogging world, so I didn’t have much of a readership then.

Most Pride-Worthy Piece:  My second blogaversary post.  I loved working on that montage, despite the fact that the only program I had to make it with was Windows Movie Maker, which seems to go out of its way to offer as little control and precision as possible.  And since precision is a good thing when you’re doing montages, it was quite a challenge.  But I was very happy with the final result.

Since I really don’t know who all has been tagged already and who hasn’t, consider yourself tagged if you’d like to do this meme.  It’s interesting to see what bloggers think about some of their own posts.

3 comments

  1. I gasped when I saw your comment re: Citizen Kane not being the perfect movie, but it is a great post with excellent photos. I fully agreed with it.

  2. When “Gowns” are mentioned in the credits, is that Evening wear, Day wear,or both?Never have gotten explanation

Comments are closed.