Munster, Go Home! at the Redford

I always love going to the Redford for a classic movie, but I especially love going just before Halloween because they always do something really fun.  Last year, they did a double feature of It Came from Outer Space in 3-D and Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein.  The theater was decorated, people came in costume, it was like a big party, I loved it.  But they really upped the ante this year with their screening of 1966’s Munster, Go Home!  Not only was it a really fun pre-Halloween movie, but Butch Patrick was there to meet fans, sign autographs, introduce the movie and do a little Q&A session.  I didn’t get an autograph or personally meet him, but he sure seemed to be a very nice, friendly guy and was having a ball meeting Munsters fans.

There was a great crowd and it was really fun to hear Butch’s recollections about making the movie and the TV show.  He also talked about things like what ever happened to Eddie’s Wolf-Wolf toy prop, how Debbie Watson (who played Marilyn in the movie) was at the time being groomed by Universal to be a Sandra Dee type star, and how impressed he was by the theater.  The movie was a lot of fun, especially since I had never seen it before.  I’ve loved The Munsters for years, but for some reason, just never came across the movie before.  The movie was exactly what I was hoping for, I got a lot of laughs out of it. It was a great way to spend the afternoon.

Unfortunately, I forgot to bring my camera with me so I had to rely on my cell phone camera.  The only picture worth posting that I got was this one of a Drag-u-la car that was on display in front of the theater:

If you’d like to see more of the theater, I recommend checking out Butch’s YouTube channel, which has lots of videos from his trip to Detroit, but this video is particularly great since it’s a little tour of the theater.

