What’s on TCM: August 2011


It’s that time of year again!  Let Summer Under the Stars commence!  I love this year’s line-up.  Even though there are plenty of the usual SUTS suspects like Bette Davis, Cary Grant, and Jimmy Stewart, more than half of this year’s stars have never been part of SUTS before.  And many of those who have been featured before, haven’t been featured in quite a few years.  Let’s take a look at the full list of stars:

August 1: Marlon Brando
August 2: Paulette Goddard
August 3: Bette Davis
August 4: Ronald Colman
August 5: John Garfield
August 6: Lucille Ball (Coincides with Lucy’s 100th birthday!)
August 7: Charles Laughton
August 8: Orson Welles
August 9: Ann Dvorak
August 10: Shirley MacLaine
August 11: Ben Johnson
August 12: Claudette Colbert
August 13: James Stewart
August 14: Ralph Bellamy
August 15: Lon Chaney
August 16: Joanne Woodward
August 17: Humphrey Bogart
August 18: Jean Gabin
August 19: Debbie Reynolds
August 20: Montgomery Clift
August 21: Cary Grant
August 22: Joan Crawford
August 23: Conrad Veidt
August 24: Joan Blondell
August 25: Burt Lancaster
August 26: Peter Lawford
August 27: Linda Darnell
August 28: Carole Lombard
August 29: Anne Francis
August 30: Howard Keel
August 31: Marlene Dietrich

To see the full schedule, you can download that right here.

There’s definitely a lot of stuff I’m looking forward to here.  Of course, I’m really looking forward to Bette Davis, Joan Crawford, Humphrey Bogart, and Cary Grant’s days.  I was very impressed to see Ann Dvorak, Joan Blondell, Linda Darnell, Paulette Goddard, Conrad Veidt, Lon Chaney, and Jean Gabin included this year.  Jean Gabin was probably the biggest surprise since I don’t recall them doing a day of foreign films during SUTS before.  If they have done one before, it’s been a few years.  Carole Lombard day is another day I’m particularly looking forward to.  It’s got a nice mix of things that I’ve never seen before and some old favorites, so I’ll have a lot of fun with that day.  Fans of silent films will be most excited for Lon Chaney day, but there are more silents mixed in during Ronald Colman and Conrad Veidt days.

August 1:  SUTS gets off to a good start with Marlon Brando day.  Guys and Dolls is on at 5:15 PM, followed by a stellar prime time line-up of The Wild One at 8:00 PM, A Streetcar Named Desire at 9:30 PM, and On the Waterfront at 12:00 AM.

August 2:  I like Paulette Goddard, but admittedly, I haven’t seen that many of her movies.  I’m interested in seeing Dramatic School, which is on at 7:30 AM, and Second Chorus at 4:45 PM.  Then there’s some of her classics like Modern Times at 6:30 PM, The Great Dictator at 8:00 PM, and The Women at 2:15 AM.

August 3:  Ah, Bette Davis, one of my favorites.  There’s not a lot here that I haven’t seen before, but I’m looking forward to finally seeing 20,000 Years in Sing Sing at 12:45 PM.  You can’t go wrong with Now, Voyager at 9:00 AM, The Letter at 4:30 PM, The Petrified Forrest at 6:30 PM, or The Old Maid at 8:00 PM.  The documentary Stardust: The Bette Davis Story is also worth checking out, that’s on at 7:30 AM.

August 4:  Fans of silents will be happy to see Ronald Colman with Lillian Gish in The White Sister on at 9:15 AM and some of his work with the Talmadge sisters with Kiki at 11:30 AM, and Her Night of Romance later at 12:30 AM.  Random Harvest is on at 10:15 PM and Lost Horizon is up at 1:45 AM.

August 5:  Ah, John Garfield.  Can’t miss Humoresque at 4:45 PM and The Postman Always Rings Twice at 8:00 PM.

August 6:  Happy 100th birthday, Lucille Ball!  She’s another actress I like, but I haven’t really seen many of her movies, but I’m eager to see Du Barry Was a Lady at 6:00 AM and Easy to Wed at 11:30 PM.  Without Love (9:30 AM), The Long, Long Trailer (2:30 PM), Dance Girl Dance (6:15 PM), and Stage Door (8:00 PM) are all good.

August 8:  Of course Orson Welles day is going to have one awesome prime time schedule.  There’s The Third Man at 8:00 PM, Citizen Kane at 10:00 PM, Touch of Evil at 12:15 AM, and The Lady from Shanghai at 2:00 AM.

August 9:  Pre-code lovers rejoice!  It’s Ann Dvorak day!  I haven’t seen very many of the movies featured today, but Scarface (8:00 PM) and Three on a Match (9:45 PM) are definitely essential Dvorak.

August 10:  Prime time is all essential Shirley MacLaine with The Apartment at 8:00 PM, Some Came Running at 10:30 PM, and Ocean’s Eleven at 1:00 AM.  I’m interested in checking out The Children’s Hour at 12:00 PM.

August 11:  Since Ben Johnson day has a lot of westerns, I can’t say this is my favorite day of the month, but I definitely have got to see The Wild Bunch at 3:30 AM.  Before that is The Last Picture Show at 1:15 AM, which is very worth seeing if you haven’t already.

August 12:  No Claudette Colbert day would be complete without It Happened One Night (11:30 PM) and Since You Went Away (1:30 AM).  I’ve heard wonderful things about Midnight (8:00 PM), so I’m looking forward to finally seeing that one.

August 13:  Of course, there’s no going wrong with a Jimmy Stewart day.  Lots of great old favorites like Mr. Smith Goes to Washington at 9:00 AM, Wife vs. Secretary at 11:15 AM, The Shop Around the Corner at 2:30 PM, Bell, Book and Candle at 4:15 PM, and Anatomy of a Murder at 12:00 AM.  I think I need to check out Vivacious Lady at 12:45 PM.

August 14:  Ralph Bellamy day looks like it’s going to be a lot of fun.  There’s Carefree at 6:00 AM, Picture Snatcher at 10:15 AM, The Wolf Man at 6:45 PM, His Girl Friday at 8:00 PM, and The Awful Truth at 9:45 PM.

August 15:  All right, Lon Chaney day!  I actually haven’t seen a lot of movies on today, but my DVD recorder will be busy today.  I definitely suggest checking out He Who Gets Slapped (11:00 AM), The Phantom of the Opera at 10:00 PM, and The Unknown at 1:30 AM.

August 16:  I have plenty of movies to choose from today for my “watch a new movie every day during SUTS” plan.  I’ve only seen part of A Kiss Before Dying, so I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of that at 8:00 PM.  I’m also interested in checking out The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds at 2:00 AM.

August 17:  Ah, Humphrey Bogart day!  I don’t think there’s a movie here that I haven’t seen before, but there’s no shortage of things I’d gladly watch again like To Have and Have Not (11:00 AM), The Big Sleep (12:45 PM), High Sierra (2:45 PM), They Drive By Night (4:30 PM), In a Lonely Place (6:15 PM), and The Maltese Falcon (8:00 PM).  Nice to see King of the Underworld included today at 9:45 AM, that’s one that doesn’t come up very often.

August 18:  Jean Gabin day is going to be very fun for me.  The only movie I’ve seen from today’s line-up is Grand Illusion (10:00 PM).  Most of the movies on today have never been shown on TCM before, so this looks like it’s going to be very much worth checking out.

August 19:  Of course, a day of Debbie Reynolds movies is going to be lots of fun.  There’s The Tender Trap at 8:45 AM, Bundle of Joy at 10:45 AM, The Mating Game at 2:00 PM, The Unsinkable Molly Brown at 10:00 PM, Divorce American Style at 12:15 AM, and of course, Singin’ in the Rain at 2:15 AM.  At 8:00 PM is one called The Gazebo, which sounds very Trouble With Harry-esque.  It sounds like a darker comedy than your typical Debbie Reynolds movie, so I’m very intrigued by that one.

August 20:  I love, love, love a lot of today’s movies.  It’s got From here to Eternity at 3:30 PM, The Misfits at 5:45 PM, A Place in the Sun at 8:00 PM, and The Heiress at 10:15 PM.  That is one stellar block of movies.

August 21:  Cary Grant day is a day you just can’t go wrong with.  There’s not a bad movie in the bunch.  If you’ve never seen This is the Night, be sure to set your DVRs for that one at 6:00 AM.

August 22:  Yay, Joan Crawford day!  The only ones I haven’t seen today are Forsaking All Others (6:00 AM), The Shining Hour (2:45 AM), and Montana Moon (4:15 AM).  The best movies aren’t on until prime time, starting with the 1931 version of Possessed at 8:00 PM (I’m happy to see that one get the 8:00 PM time slot instead of her other Possessed movie), the documentary Joan Crawford: The Ultimate Movie Star at 9:30 PM, Mildred Pierce at 11:00 PM, and Sadie McKee at 1:00 AM.

August 23:  There’s a little bit of overlap between Joan Crawford day and Conrad Veidt day with Above Suspicion at 6:00 AM and A Woman’s Face at 6:00 PM.  There’s also Escape at 4:15 PM, The Hands of Orlac at 8:00 PM, Casablanca at 11:45 PM, and The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari at 3:15 AM.

August 24:  It’s Joan Blondell day, another day for pre-code lovers to be happy about.  I’m never going to complain about any day that involves Gold Diggers of 1933 (2:45 PM) followed by Footlight Parade (4:30 PM).

August 25:  I think my new-t0-me movies for today will be Trapeze (10:00 AM) and The Leopard (8:00 PM).  Sweet Smell of Success (12:00 PM) and The Killers (11:30 PM) are both excellent.

August 27:  Linda Darnell day seems particularly interesting because not only do I think she’s kind of an underrated actress, but also because many of the movies on today are TCM premieres.  One of those premieres includes A Letter to Three Wives (8:00 PM), which I’ve written about before and is a movie I think is majorly underrated.  If you’ve never seen it before, be sure to check it out.

August 28:  Yay, Carole Lombard day!  Starting at 4:30 PM is an excellent string of movies, starting with Twentieth Century, then To Be or Not to Be at 6:15 PM, My Man Godfrey at 8:00 PM, Hands Across the Table at 10:00 PM, Nothing Sacred at 11:30 PM, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith at 1:00 AM.  There are only a couple of movies on before that that I have seen, I am particularly eager to finally see Virtue at 1:00 PM.

August 29:  Anne Francis day brings us Bad Day at Black Rock at 12:00 PM, Susan Slept Here at 1:30 PM, Funny Girl at 5:00 PM, Blackboard Jungle at 8:00 PM, and Forbidden Planet at 10:00 PM.

August 31:  SUTS comes to a close with one of my favorites, Marlene Dietrich day.  Again, there isn’t a lot here that I haven’t already seen, but I definitely recommend checking out the documentary Marlene Dietrich: Her Own Song at 4:45 PM, which is produced by her grandson, Shanghai Express at 6:30 PM, The Scarlet Empress at 8:00 PM, The Devil is a Woman at 10:00 PM, A Foreign Affair at 1:30 AM, and finally, The Blue Angel at 3:30 AM.

