15 Movie Questions

Just another fun meme I’ve seen going around the blogosphere lately…

1. Movie you love with a passion.

E.T. will always be my #1 favorite movie.  It’s held that title for I’m guessing roughly 22 years now, I don’t see that changing anytime in the future.

2. Movie you vow to never watch.

Old Yeller.  I have too much of a soft spot for animals to subject myself to that one.

3. Movie that literally left you speechless.

Witness For the Prosecution.  It’s so brilliant how Billy Wilder made all us know-it-all, “I saw that coming a mile away” types think that we knew exactly what was going on, then totally blindsided us with something different.  It was the first time I actually felt taken down a peg by a movie and I loved it.

4. Movie you always recommend.
It depends on who I’m recommending it to and what their tastes are.  If it’s someone who is into modern gangster movies like Goodfellas, I’ll recommend something like The Public Enemy or Bonnie and Clyde.  If it’s someone who says they don’t like older movies because they’re too squeaky clean, I suggest Baby Face or I am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang.

5. Actor/actress you always watch, no matter how crappy the movie.
Bette Davis or Joan Crawford.  Yes, I do have a copy of Trog sitting on my shelf and I have seen Bunny O’Hare.

6. Actor/actress you don’t get the appeal for.
I’ve always found June Allyson pretty bland.  Good singer, but I’ve never really warmed to her.

7. Actor/actress, living or dead, you’d love to meet.
Who wouldn’t I like to meet?  Bette Davis, Charlie Chaplin, Katharine Hepburn, Joan Crawford, Norma Shearer, Humphrey Bogart, Greta Garbo, Spencer Tracy, Olivia de Havilland, Lauren Bacall, Carole Lombard, Gloria Swanson, Mae West, Jack Lemmon.

8. Sexiest actor/actress you’ve seen. (Picture required!)
I’m just going to take this opportunity to post this GIF of a shirtless Paul Newman.  (If you don’t see the animation, just click on the picture)

9. Dream cast.
All I know is that I would have loved for Billy Wilder to have directed Garbo in something.  I don’t know who would co-star with her, but as we saw in Ninotchka, Garbo was fantastic with Billy Wilder’s writing style.  I really think he would have done something spectacular with her as a director.

10. Favorite actor pairing.
I’d say it’s a tie between Myrna Loy and William Powell and Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy.

11. Favorite movie setting.
Any wonderfully art deco environment like in Grand Hotel or This is the Night.

12. Favorite decade for movies.
1920s or 1930s.  I love the silent era, but the 30s were so much fun, too, with all those great musicals, the pre-code era, and the entire year of 1939.

13. Chick flick or action movie?
It depends on my mood.  I can appreciate The Adventures of Robin Hood and Pillow Talk in equal measures.

14. Hero, villain or anti-hero?
Tough choice there, they can all be fun.

15. Black and white or color?
They both have their merits.
One comment

  1. I agree with you on Witness for the Prosecution. that is one hell of a plot. I also will always watch Bette and Joan movies no matter what, but that also goes for Carole Lombard, Audrey Hepburn, Robert Montgomery, Lana Turner, Elizabeth Taylor…..

Comments are closed.