Jane Russell (1921-2011)

Boy, was I sad to come home from work and literally have the first thing I saw when I turned on my computer was the news that Jane Russell had died.  I’ve only really seen a few of her movies, but I’ve always had a great fondness for her.  She always knew who she was and and lived life on her own terms and she made no apologies for it.  Plus she was the star of one of my favorite movies, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.  I refuse to even call that movie a guilty pleasure because it’s just so much fun to watch.  She and Marilyn are one of my favorite on-screen duos, I always wished they had made more movies together.  Since I’m always going to best remember Jane for Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, I’m just going to share some of her best moments from that movie.

We’ll miss you, Jane!

One comment

  1. So sad, isn’t it? I’m sure you’re like me and grew up with Jane Russell. Gentlemen Prefer Blondes is about as much a part of my childhood as peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, you know? A great beauty and a real talent and a loss we’ll never really see the likes of again.

    Thanks for sharing those clips!!! “Aint There Anyone Here For Love” just nevuh nevuh EVUH gets old!!

Comments are closed.