Hot Weather Classics

I think everyone has a few favorite seasonal movies.  Who doesn’t have some favorite movies they watch every Halloween or Christmas?  Or even some favorites to watch on rainy days.  But does anyone else out there have some favorites they love to watch in the summertime when it’s nice and hot out?  I know I sure do.  Some are light and refreshing, others are about people who are sweltering just as much as I am.  Either way, they make for some quality summertime entertainment.

1.  The Seven Year Itch (1955)

Sweltering in a hot city has never been more fun.

2.  Rear Window (1954)

Rear Window is good any time of the year, but it gets an extra level of creepiness when you watch it during a time of year when there’s a good chance all the windows in your house are open.

3.  The Letter (1940)

Click to see the trailer.

I’m not sure what it is about hot weather that makes me love watching Bette Davis shoot a man.

4.  The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946)

Hot weather was just made for watching one of the most scalding film noirs of all time.

5.  Some Like it Hot (1959)

Is there anything more refreshing than watching such a light comedy with a nice, cold drink in your hand?

6.  Key Largo (1948)

Watching a movie about getting caught in a storm in a place like Key Largo on a hot day just seems so right.

7.  Beach Blanket Bingo (1965)

I don’t think this one requires any further explanation.

8.  Gilda (1946)

Gilda typically isn’t one of my favorite movies, but I don’t think anyone ever smoldered more on-screen than Rita Hayworth did as Gilda.

9.  Pretty much any Esther Williams movie

If Esther Williams doesn’t inspire you to want to take a dip in the pool, I don’t know what will.

10.  Asphalt (1929)

It’s like a silent film noir and it brings just as much heat as even the most scalding film noir from the 1940s.

How about you?  Any classics you like to stay in to watch to beat the heat?

5 comments

  1. Key Largo is an excellent choice. I’d go for Do the Right Thing, which conveys heat in a movie very convincingly, and I’d insist on Mink deVille’s ‘Spanish Stroll’ being played inbetween movies.

  2. DO THE RIGHT THING also came to mind before I checked out this site. In addition, one cannot forget GREASE! and those “Summer Nights”!

    1. I just saw Do the Right Thing for the first time of a couple of weeks ago and I definitely agree that’s a perfect hot weather movie!

Comments are closed.