What’s on TCM: April 2010

Looking over TCM’s schedule for April, I have to say that it’s looking like a somewhat slow month.  And by “slow month,” I mean there’s a lot of good stuff, but not a lot of stuff that’s new to me.  But that’s OK though, because some of the stuff that is new to me is stuff that I’ve been really wanting to see for quite a while now.  However, there are also a couple of glaring omissions on the schedule: no birthday tributes to Bette Davis or Charlie Chaplin.  Bette and Charlie usually get birthday tributes (well, there is one Bette Davis movie on her birthday), but not this year.  Oh well, I have enough of their movies on DVD that I can have my own birthday tribute if I want.  Now, on to the rest of the schedule.

On the morning of April 1st, I’ll get to catch Weekend at the Waldorf.  I’ve been curious about that one for a while since I’m a fan of Grand Hotel and Lana Turner.  Then in prime time, guest programmer Raquel Welch introduces her picks: Adam’s Rib, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and To Have and Have Not.  Nothing at all new to me there, but they are all must-see movies.

April 3rd, I’ll be recording China Seas and Red Dust.  I started watching Red Dust once a while back and was truly enjoying it, but I ended up dozing off and missed the end of it.  I’ll check out China Seas too since Clark Gable and Jean Harlow made such a great team in Red Dust.  At 8:00 PM, Bonnie and Clyde will be that week’s episode of The Essentials.  Again, Bonnie and Clyde isn’t new to me, but it’s a great movie nonetheless and it’s not like there’s anything better on TV on a Saturday night.

April 5th: Whoo-hoo!  I finally get to see the silent The Passion of Joan of Arc!  I’ve wanted to see that one for a very long time now.  And it’s followed by Juliet of the Spirits!  Silent Sunday Nights and TCM Imports really make a great pairing a lot of the time.  Then at 2:00 PM is A Stolen Life with Bette Davis.  I’m always up for seeing a Bette Davis movie I haven’t seen before.  TCM’s salute to director George Stevens begins at 8:00 PM with Giant.  At last, I’ll finally get to see the last hour of Giant!  Last time I tried watching it, I fell asleep during the last hour.

April 7th: When Ladies Meet and The Pirate.  I’m a big Judy Garland fan, so I probably should have seen The Pirate a while ago.  I also dig Joan Crawford, so I’m always glad to see one of hers that I’ve never seen before.

Prime time on April 8th looks fantastic: Libeled Lady, Dangerous, and Slightly Dangerous.  Libeled Lady is a fun one, I’ve only seen parts of Dangerous, and I’ve been wanting to see Slightly Dangerous.

April 10th:  Judgment at Nuremberg on The Essentials.  One I’ve been wanting to see for a while, but haven’t always had the patience to watch all the way through when it’s been on before.

April 11th has Queen Christina, Hans Christian Anderson, Duck Soup, The Browning Version, West Side Story, A Place in the Sun, That Touch of Mink, Marty, and When a Man Loves.  I have no idea if there’s supposed to be some sort of a theme going on here, but there’s some good stuff in here.

April 14: TCM will be celebrating 50 years of Motown in prime time starting with the disco “classic” Thank God It’s Friday.  I’m absolutely fascinated by the fact that a terrible disco movie got the 8:00 time slot and Lady Sings the Blues, which stars Motown legend Diana Ross, is on at midnight.  Oh well, I can always go for making fun of bad disco movies in prime time.

April 17: Whoo-hoo!  I finally get to see Strangers on a Train!  It’s been a while since TCM last played that one and I totally forgot to watch it last time it was on.

April 20:  Happy birthday, Harold Lloyd!  Several of his movies are on during the day, but unfortunately, not many of his silents.

April 24:  The Graduate at 8:00 PM followed by The Magnificent Ambersons at 10:00 PM.  Can’t complain about that line-up.

April 25:  The Best Years of Our Lives at 5:00 PM, Singin’ in the Rain at 8:00 PM, Sunset Blvd. at 10:00 PM.  Again, that’s a line-up you can’t go wrong with.

April 26:  The Blue Angel at 2:00 AM, The Bicycle Thief at 6:00 AM, Kind Hearts and Coronets at 10:00 AM.  Kind Hearts and Coronets is another one I’ve really wanted to see for a while now.  Nice to see TCM play The Blue Angel again, I think it’s been a few years since they last played that one.  In prime time, the George Stevens tribute includes The More the Merrier, Talk of the Town, Woman of the Year, and Swing Time.  Nothing new to me, but always a good selection.

April 28: Midnight at 8:00 PM.  I saw a little bit of this last time it was on and I wished I had watched the whole thing.

