Kino DVD Sale at DeepDiscount

Normally, a DVD sale is not something I’d write about, but right now DeepDiscount.com is running a sale that’s too good to not mention.  A huge selection of Kino DVDs is currently marked down quite drastically.  I really hate to sound like a commercial, but Kino DVDs don’t go on this big of a sale every day, so if there’s something you’ve had your eye on, now would be a good time to get it.  Silent film staples like Metropolis, Nosferatu, The Cabinet of Dr. Calligari, The General, and Way Down East are currently $15 or less.  Box sets like Lubitsch in Berlin, both D.W. Giffith collections, The Art of Buster Keaton, and The Movies Begin are half off.  Even some of their new releases like the Norma and Constance Talmadge DVDs are included.  The sale runs through April 8, 2010 and very much worth checking out.

I ordered the documentary Marlene and I’m really looking forward to seeing it.  The only other Dietrich documentary I’ve seen is Marlene Dietrich: Her Own Song and I enjoyed that one, but I’ve read some wonderful things about Marlene so I’m hoping it will live up to the hype.

If you’re looking for something new to watch, I’d recommend the Lubitsch in Berlin collection, Asphalt, and Way Down East.  Way Down East is my personal favorite D.W. Griffith movie.  I found it more interesting than Intolerance and it’s not a racial minefield like The Birth of a Nation.  Asphalt is one I really like a lot, it’s like a silent film noir.  As for the Lubitsch in Berlin collection, I haven’t seen Sumurun, but I have seen all the other ones and truly enjoyed them.  I thought The Doll, The Oyster Princess, and I Don’t Want to be a Man were particularly fun.  When you hear about Lubitsch, you tend to hear about his sound films like Ninotchka, The Shop Around the Corner, and To Be or Not to Be, his silents don’t really get much attention even though this collection proves they could be quite delightful.

